Homeowner Assistance Fund

Federal assistance to provide relief for homeowners

The Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF) is a federal program to help homeowners impacted by COVID-19 catch up on their overdue bills and remain in their homes. A large majority of states are running this program through their state’s housing finance agency (HFA). States and U.S territories will administer a total of $9.961 billion, subject to Treasury Department guidance.

Check below to see if your state is still offering this program.

Who receives and administers the funds?

The HAF will be distributed to: 

  • All 50 states, Washington D.C., and Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Territories: Guam, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands
  • Tribes and Tribal entities, the Department of Hawaiian Home Lands (DHHL)   

Contact your state program directly for availability, eligibility, and application information.

American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian homeowners can also contact their tribe or tribal housing program directly for information, in addition to their state’s program.